• 2012 Greater Fort Worth Chapter PRSA Worthy Awards: Communicator of the Year
  • Harvard Kennedy School: “75 Interesting & Accomplished Alumni”
  • 2012 Stonewall Democrats of Greater Sacramento: President’s Award
  • 2011 Stonewall National Museum: Man of the Year
  • 2011 Fort Worth Weekly People’s Choice Awards: Servant of the People
  • 2011 PRISM Inaugural Award (Mental Health America of Greater Dallas): Media Award
  • 2011 Elected Official of the Year – National Association of Social Workers in North Central Texas-Fort Worth Area Branch
  • 2011 Mike Moncrief “Believing in Youth Award”:
    The Mike Moncrief “Believing in Youth” Awards were established in 2004 to recognize individuals who demonstrate extraordinary commitment to the youth of Tarrant County.
  • Dallas Voice: 2011 Elected Official of the Year and 2010 and 2009 Best Council Person
  • Sweden Gaygalan: 2011 Honor Award Medal winner
  • 2010 Texan of the Year Finalist -Dallas Morning News
  • 2010 Planned Parenthood North Texas:  Katherine Ripley Award for Media
  • David Bohnett Foundation: 2010 Bohnett Fellow
  • National GLBT Chamber-Extra Mile Award 2010:
    Each year the NGLCC awards the NGLCC/American Airlines ExtrAA Mile Award to an individual who has gone the distance for LGBT equality despite tremendous odds.
  • 2010 Fort Worth Weekly People’s Choice Awards: Servant of the People
  • 2010 Best City Council Person- Dallas Voice
  • 2010 Texas Progressive Alliance– Texan of the Year
  • Leadership North Texas Class of 2010
  • 2009 Kline Watts Award:
    In honor of Joan Kline and the late Dr. James M. Watts, and in appreciation for their long-standing support to the Near Southside community, our annual award for outstanding contributions to the area will be forever known as the Kline-Watts Award.
  • 2009 Fort Worth Weekly People’s Choice Awards: Servant of the People, Whippersnapper
  • North Texas GLBT Chamber-Extra Mile Award 2009
  • GLAAD Media Award

Constituent Toolbox

The Latest